HELP!

My pal is getting married at the end of the month. I can’t go to the wedding, but I want to make a mix that MAY POSSIBLY BE PLAYED AT THE RECEPTION!

She’s French, and very indie-cool. She told me that there’ll be Arctic Monkeys, Hard Fi etc being played at the reception/party and that I should really go because I’ll be the only one dancing with her! LOL

Anyway, here’s the ideas I have so far. Its indie-cool tempered with encouraging non-indie-cool people to dance. Suggestions? Amendments? Etc?

Bear in mind that we are all in our early 30s!Ā 

  • I Will Survive Cake
  • Legal Man Belle and Sebastian
  • Bonnie and Clyde Serge Gainsbourg & Brigitte Bardot
  • Danger! High Voltage! Electric Six
  • Seven Nation Army The White Stripes
  • Release The Pressure Leftfield
  • Rise Public Image Ltd.
  • Rebellion (Lies) Arcade Fire
  • She Sells Sanctuary The Cult
  • The Walk The Cure
  • Smells Like Teen Spirit (House Spirit Club Mix) Warp Brothers
  • I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor Arctic Monkeys
  • One More Time Daft Punk
  • The Bad Touch The Bloodhound Gang
  • Cannonball The Breeders
  • Lazy X Press 2 feat. David Byrne
  • Somebody Told Me (Mylo Mix) The Killers
  • Horny As A Dandy Mousse T vs The Dandy Warhols
  • Bottle Rocket The Go! Team
  • Rapture Riders Go Home Productions
  • Jump Around House Of Pain
  • Milkshake Kelis
  • So Here We Are Bloc Party
  • Flame Bell X1
  • Tequila (Mint Royale Shot) Terrorvision
  • Just Can’t Get Enough Nouvelle Vague
  • Buck Rogers Feeder
4 comments

  1. Brian

    Have you any room for a Magnetic Fields song. It’s Only Time could work, the dancefloor might clear but i’m sure a few people would love it. The Pipettes ‘it hurts to see you dance so well’ another contender, it’s 80 seconds long…. yeah if you weeded out that nasty House of Pain track you’d be amazed by what could fit in its place. LOL

  2. eguinan

    It’s very tricky. I’ve a gut feeling that the wedding will be filled with people who are expecting The Birdie Song and Jive Bunny & The Mastermixers. The Pipettes may be a bit *avant* ha ha!

    I’d fill it with Magnetic Fields if I could. Maybe something more upbeat from them? I toyed with Long Forgotten Fairytale or Here In My Heart (6ths).

    I think it’s the sample from ‘Harlem Shuffle’ that makes me overlook House of Pain every time! It *is* a bit shit though šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

