Tonight, Matthew, I’m going to be…. (Blogs In Their Eyes 1)

…. The Number One Songs In Heaven.

Hello London Lee! I’ve decided to start another occasional series. This time I shall pretend to be one of my favourite blogs, starting with The Number One Songs In Heaven which is maintained by Lee, who is, I presume, in London, and features lovingly-rescued soul and dance tracks. Lee unearths obscure Northern Soul, 70’s funk and 80s synclavier goodness. And every one’s a winner.

Anyway, here’s one he hasn’t done (I think!).

PIc of The Supremes' New Ways... album sleeve

Supremely Yours

In 1970, having lost Diana Ross to her solo efforts, nobody would have been surprised to see the remaining Supremes quietly dissolve and make solo albums with diminishing results. Instead, Mary Wilson and the appropriately-monikered Cindy Birdsong recruited Jean Terell and enlisted the aid of the legendary Frank Wilson (he of “Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)” fame).

Together they recorded three albums in 1970 and managed to score three more top thirty hits in the US. The largest of those was “Stoned Love”, taken from the New Ways But Love Stays album, the second of the three.

As well as having a remarkable cover (the Supremes in Black Panther style black turtlenecks), it consists of some remarkable covers (“Bridge Over Troubled Waters”, “Na Na Hey Hey (Kiss Him Goodbye)” and “Come Together”), but the real gems are the original tracks such as this example of ‘dusty groove’. Terell’s breathy vocals are far less shrill, perhaps, than her predecessor and the ditching of Holland-Dozier-Holland led the Supremes into a more knowing (and sexual) style.

This track is available on some of the myriad Supremes compilations, but is very much at home on the Saint Etienne-curated The Trip collection.

Hee hee! That was fun. Now, whose blog shall I do next?

Download It’s Time To Break Down – The Supremes (mp3 7.2MB)

Like this? Why not purchase It’s Time To Break Down on iTMS?

4 comments

  1. Minge

    About to download!

    I adore Na Na Hey Hey… But don’t really know how to handle it (and Bananarama do a crackin’ version of it, too). Ok, so it’s a female singing… Is she lesbian? Or has her man run off wih a bloke?

    Help!

    Na na na na, na na na na, hey hey hey, goodbye
    He’ll never love you, the way that I love you
    ‘Cause if he did, no no, he wouldn’t make you cry
    He might be thrillin’ baby but a-my love (my love, my love)
    So dog-gone willin’
    So kiss him (I wanna see you kiss him, wanna see you kiss him)
    Go on and kiss him goodbye

    Na na na na, hey hey-hey, goodbye
    Na na na na, na na na na, hey hey hey, goodbye
    Listen to me now
    He’s never near you to comfort and cheer you
    When all those sad tears are fallin’ baby from your eyes
    He might be thrillin’ baby but a-my love (my love, my love)
    So dog-gone willin’
    So kiss him (I wanna see you kiss him. I wanna see you kiss him)
    Go on and kiss him goodbye

    Na-na na-na-na na na na na na na, hey hey hey, goodbye
    Hey hey-hey, goodbye
    Na na na na, na na na na, hey hey hey, goodbye
    Na na na na, na na na na, hey hey hey, goodbye
    Na na na na, na na na na, hey hey hey, goodbye

  2. eguinan

    Hmmm, never noticed that before. I bet The Supremes didn’t change the pronoun as a ‘pointed statement’ about Diana’s departure to be a solo artiste with ‘Very’ Berry Gordy. Something like ‘You’re gonna flop ‘cos you’re both cunts/Na na na na na’ or somesuch.

    PS: The Pipettes are the new Bananarama. Discuss.

Leave a Reply

