A Gift.

Image of sleeve for my 2006 dance mix.

The image above comes from sud73‘s beautiful photographs of wrestlers.

Andrew says that the music I like is Miserable Git Music, and it is true that I have a penchant for the melancholy, but this propensity is totally at odds with my love for dance. And I don’t mean ‘dance’ as in Chris de Burgh’s bizarre pronunciation in The Lady in Red, but fierce, joyful, euphoric, four-to-the-floor, thumping dance. And that’s my Xmas gift to you!

Until I met Andrew, I preferred radio edits to extended club mixes, but that was because I listened to the radio rather than danced in clubs. Logical, non?

Then he introduced me to the club scene in London and it was a revelation. Meeting at some friend’s place for the pre-event to get ready, talking nonsense and sipping white wine, hailing taxis, chatting in the queue with random hopefuls, ogling buff boys with their tops off, eventually taking one’s top off (now that has been quite an achievement!) and being ogled, dancing en masse, necking bottles of water, watching mating rituals on the dancefloor and beyond, slipping away from the herd when no one is looking to sneak home and make out, negotiating with cab drivers at 7am while out of it, arranging the chill out next day at someone’s place but most of all, dancing like a gleeful nutter to the relentless, funky, manipulative dance music telling me to ‘get high’ and ‘never stop’ and ‘feel free’ and ‘find yourself a friend’. And it is so, so manipulative…

Some say that a bod cannot fully ‘get’ dance music unless one has popped a pill at some stage. While I couldn’t possibly comment on the veracity of that statement, I dare say there’s a grain of truth.

For those of you inclined towards the dance, I’ve put together this mix of 2006 tracks. Andrew has been amazed bored by my ability to absorb some of the tracks over various club nights in London, New York, Rio, Brighton, Edinburgh and indeed Dublin. I hear snippets of a lyric, a recognisable sample or a distinctive synth riff and soon I’m all over DJDownload to get the stats. How I thrilled bored him with tales of the significance of Richard X, and let’s not go into the back story of ‘Love Don’t Let Me Go (Walking Away)’.

A track such as Boogie 2Nite hits the upper regions of the Top 40 and I can tell him how it was he, after dancing to it months before, who bought the Housexy album 18 months ago which had the remix of the Tweet album track and how this in turn led to a remake with a fab Seamus Haji mix being used for the radio edit. Oh, he (correctly) doen’t give a crap; he just wants to boogie.

And I salute him – and thank him for introducing me to his world. x

Tracklist:

  • Funk (Robbie Rivera Mix) * Matteo Esse
  • Boogie 2Nite (Seamus Haji Big Love Remix) * Booty Luv
  • Speechless (Seamus Haji Big Love Remix) * Mish Mash feat. Lois
  • Crazy (Vission Remix) * Gnarls Barkley
  • Changes * Chris Lake
  • The Wings (Gabriel & Dresden Remix) * Gustavo Santaolalla
  • Chasing Cars (Topher Jones & Blake Jarrell bootleg) * Snow Patrol
  • No More Conversations (Richard X Remix) * Freeform Five
  • Exceeder (Original) * Mason
  • Cruel (Fonzerelli Full Vocal Club Mix) * Aaron McClelland
  • Love Don’t Let Me Go (Walking Away) * David Guetta vs The Egg
  • Find Yourself A Friend (Seamus Haji Big Love Vocal) * Paul Harris
  • Fugitive (Richard X Extended Mix) * Pet Shop Boys

Right click or ALT click to download 2006’s Over… Let’s Boogie! Mixed by Enda P (97 MB, 80 mins)

Like this? Why wouldn’t you.

6 comments

  1. themilkman

    So basically, Andrew’s only got himself to blame for you thrilling/boring him. I am pretty hopeless at recognising anything in a club. In fact, bizarely for someone who doesn’t seem to be able to breathe if there isn’t any music around, I do not pay much attention to the music in clubs. Don’t ask why, I haven’t got the faintest idea why… I just DON’T dance.

    My musical tastes tend to be miles apart from that of my other half, although we meet on some grounds (Pet Shop Boys, which I tend to bring out rather often, and some of the more accessible stuff I listen to), and I don’t think he truly understand what I am talking about half the time. I am progressively bringing him up though, he recently found Joanna Newsom interesting!…. *whistle*

  2. eguinan

    Sometimes it’s a bit of a dodgy place: that fine line between enthusiasm for music and being an ‘educator’. He thinks I’m a little weird for getting worked up about Scritti Politti or Mew or somesuch. Yet when I snuck some stuff like Joe Chester or Adem onto his iPod, he ended up asking for more.

    ‘Ys’ is quite something, isn’t it? And I bought Various’ CD on your recommendation earlier this year. I must admit I find it hard to love. Am I defective? 😉 Maybe I shouldn’t have been listening to it while sunbathing in Greece; it’s more a miserable northern European feeling, isn’t it?

  3. themilkman

    “Am I defective?” Probably not. The Various album is a strange piece of work I think. Perhaps a “you either love it or hate it” kinda thing. The mood is certainly heavy , especially on the more purely electronic tracks, but I was playing it the other day and still really enjoyed it. At the end of the day, we can’t all have the same tastes or what would we be left to slag off? You still should give it a chance though (still fighting for it I am)

    Ys doesn’t stop blowing my mind. I was rather concerned when I heard that the album only had 5 songs, 2 of them being well over 12 minutes long, but my favourite song on it is Only Skin, which is the longest of them all. I especially love the bit about 14 minutes in that goes “All My Bones, they are gone gone gone…”. Gives me goosebumps every single time.

    A friend of mine was due to go and see her at the Barbican centre in January, but he can’t make it because of his work, so guess who is going instead??? I did miss out when the tickets went on sale, and the gig sold out very quickly, so it is just fantastic that he’s offered me his tickets. I just cannot wait for it. She’s due to play with the London Symphony Orchestra, so it should be really good.

  4. eguinan

    Conor: You’re very naughty. Check out yer man’s flickr pages though; rather tasty!

    themilkman: BIzarrely enough, I felt the Various album was a little too straightforward. The lyrics seemed a little obvious and overall, it felt a little ‘moody-by-numbers’. I didn’t feel that something new or of impact was happening – but, as you say, maybe it’s a love it or hate it thing. Except I didn’t hate it; I was a bit indifferent!

    Now ‘Ys’ is a different beast entirely. From the initial reviews, I thought it would be so far up its own ass that it could diagnose tonsilitis, but just like you, I found it mesmerising. I can’t identify particular moments, but there were moments where I just welled up. I don’t tend to pay much attention to lyrics at first, so it was purely the music/voice that provoked such a reaction. The last time I felt like that was when I started to comprehend The Avalanches’ ‘Since I Left You’: this huge, madly ambitious, thing that slowly unfolded itself to reveal something poignant about the complexity of human experience. I really look forward the ‘Ys’ revealing even more.

    God, that sounds soooo pretentious! I envy you the Barbican gig by the way. I do hope you’ll share the experience on your blog.

Leave a Reply

