Daddy or Chips Top 40 Tracks of 2006!

Image of The Sleepy JacksonImage of Belle & SebastianImage of El Perro Del Mar.Image of The Czars.

What a fabulous year it’s been musically and otherwise! Thanks to the Interweb and the whole Web 2.0 business, I’ve discovered and sampled  a huge range of artists that I otherwise would not have heard at all.

And, Mr Record Company, I went out an bought loads of them too. Sure, I grabbed mp3s here and there from other bloggers or wherever they had been placed legitimately. And yes, I occasionally had some magically appear in my inbox or hard drive where the torrents do fall.

But if I love it, I buy it. If it’s mediocre or worse, I delete it. But when I spend money now (and I have spent more on music this year than any other year before), I spend it on quality.

More of the recipients of my wealth later, this week, we’re counting down the Daddy or Chips Top Tracks of 2006!

Starting with 40-31!

Here!

Now!

40. Song for Sunshine / Belle and Sebastian

Former fey indie kids discover they can make super funky pop with aplomb.

39. Discopolis (Original) / Lifelike & Kris Menace

Ten-minute epic dance track which you can lie down to.

38. Speechless (Extended Mix) / Mish Mash feat. Lois

Andrew’s ringtone, a delicious slice of what I call Wendy House.

37. God Knows (You Gotta Give To Get) / El Perro Del Mar

Miserable Scandinavian with Phil Spector-like production teeters perilously close to high camp.

36. I’ll Be Ready / Sunblock

If you must have one slice of cheese, then this Baywatch theme sampling will fill you up!

35. You Got the Love (New Voyager Mix) / The Source feat. Candi Staton

Because sometimes you feel like putting your hands up in the air.

34. Paperback Bible / Lambchop

If Lambchop get any slower, they may halt completely. And then we’d not get beautiful things like this.

33. Angel Eyes / The Czars

Supercharging the oblique misery of Abba’s original and presenting it as a same-sex alt-country wallow.

32. Set The Fire To The Third Bar / Snow Patrol feat. Martha Wainwright

The new Travis joined by a Wainwright on a most oddly-affecting duet. And what the hell does it all mean?

31. God Lead Your Soul / The Sleepy Jackson

Aussie megalomaniacal indie kid channels Brian Wilson  and makes ace album.

30-21 tomorrow, pop-pickers! Will (Let Me Be Your) Dirty Fucking Whore make it? (Hint: It won’t)

Leave a Reply

