Daddy or Chips Top 40 Tracks of 2006! 20-11

Image of The Delays. Image of Tomas Andersson Image of Guillemots Image of Jay DabhiOk, the staff party went on a bit, then the bloody neighbours had a house party until 5 a.m., I woke up at 4:30 and couldn’t sleep til 7 and blah blah blah…..

But the music plays forever, so let’s saucily reveal a little more musical ankle, shall we? Oooh!

20. Mumbai After Dark (Bootleg) – Jay Dabhi

No 1 on BBC Asian Network for weeks, this storming potential crossover is still unreleased officially.

19. Valentine – The Delays

I do like it when indie goes Moroder on my ass. Soaring!

18. Everybody’s Gone To War – Nerina Pallot

It’s a proper pop song by a grown up and some of those hooks have gotten caught in my eye.

17. We’re Here – Guillemots

Preposterous, swirling, kitchen-sink stuff. Think ‘Yes’ by McAlmont & Butler redone by naive romantics.

16. Washing Up (Tiga Mix) – Tomas Andersson

Yes, that Dyson-fucking-iMac track again. Disorientating and provoking mindless abandonment.

15. Rehab – Amy Winehouse

No. No. No.

14. Love Will Tear Us Apart – Susanna & The Magical Orchestra

I’ll see your bleak melancholy, Joy Division, and raise you a Scandinavian fuckload more.

13. I’ll Be By Your Side – Sally Shapiro

And Scandinavians even make cheesy Italo-Disco sound sad.

12. Razzle Dazzle Rose – Camera Obscura

Wall of Sound echo chamber & violins and perhaps the longest, most epic, outro committed to tape.

11. Numb – Pet Shop Boys

Diane Warren penned Big Ballard makes England cry during the World Cup (arf!).

The Top 10 tomorrow!!!!!

Who is left? Five acts I had not heard of this time last year and five who can’t seem to be able to put a foot wrong, as you’ll see.

I’m so excited (I could vomit).

4 comments

  1. themilkman

    There’s something about the Amy Winehouse single which is just so brilliant. It’s got a nice fifties pop to it I think which makes it excellent.

    I really like the way your list is eclectic, although I must say I do not have a clue to who some of these people are. Mind, that’s usually what my friends say about what I listen to…

  2. eguinan

    Have you heard the whole AW album, milkman? You just gotta love a track that begins with the lines: ‘What kind of fuckery is this? You made me miss the Slick Rick gig…’

    I am a tad catholic in taste, although the metal and rap genres are somewhat underrepresented (although I did think hard about Lordi’s Hard Rock Halleleujah’ ;). As for obscure, you win hands down!

  3. themilkman

    I haven’t been quite curious enough to listen to the Amy Winehouse album, but I might just do that over Christmas now that it comes recommended by yourself.

    Somehow I’m glad you eventually left Lordi out of your selection. I’m trying to get more obscure as years go by…

Leave a Reply

