Mix Time: Shoreditch Trauma

 Image from duckie club

OK, first, I know that Duckie, that bizarre electro/retro/arty/queer Vauxhall club, isn’t in Shoreditch, but I was aiming for a slightly edgier vibe to the mix that usual – and yet not be po-faced.

Soooo, when the lovely Ant invited me to his 40th birthday a couple of weeks ago and encouraged me to DJ, I thought I’d make him a mix that he would like. He’s a Duckie boy, and we’ve not yet had a chance to go there together (it’s not really Andrew’s thing, you see. Duckie is an acquired taste, it seems!).

Anyway, this is the suite of songs I began with. Not funky house as usual, more edgy, but not frighten-the-horses edgy. Even still, a chap asked if I could please play some Freemasons because this was ‘thrash metal’ (not looking at anyone in particular, Soulwax).

See what you think, and happy birthday once again, Ant!

Tracklist

  • Destroy Everything You Touch * Ladytron
  • Heartbeats (Rex The Dog Remix) * The Knife
  • Let’s Make Love And Listen To Death From Above  * Cansei De Ser Sexy
  • Crazy Logic * Arty Fufkin (mashup of Gnarls Barkley, Supertramp, Rockwell & The Who)
  • Collarbone * Fujiya & Miyagi
  • Jimmy * M.I.A.
  • I Feel Love * Usha Uthup (utterly deranged ‘cover’ of Donna Summer classic)
  • One More Try (feat. Antony) * My Robot Friend
  • Young Folks (feat. Victoria Bergsman) * Peter Bjorn and John
  • Bonnie And Clyde * Serge Gainsbourg & Brigitte Bardot
  • The Eraser * Thom Yorke
  • What Else is There? (Trentemøller Remix) * Röyksopp
  • Standing In The Way Of Control (Soulwax Nite Version Mix) * The Gossip
  • E Talking * Soulwax
  • Hustler * Simian Mobile Disco (a track of the year?)
  • Frank Sinatra * Miss Kittin & The Hacker
  • Overpowered (Seamus Haji Mix) * Róisín Murphy
  • I’ll Be By Your Side * Sally Shapiro 

Download Shoreditch Trauma (Remastered mp3 76mins, 75MB) [mediafire link]

13 comments

  1. Jonathan

    This is way more my thing than your usual happy house stuff Enda. (Not that I haven’t enjoyed your previous mixes immensely, they’re never less than great fun.) I’m intrigued to see what you’ve done with the Eraser/Trentemøller/Gossip/Soulwax section. Yay!

    p.s. The Rex The Dog mix is by far the best version of Heartbeats.

    p.p.s. Bonus points for My Robot Friend! I’d be a big fan of his crazy robot sexiness. Oh yes. What widens within you Walt Whitman, indeed. 😉

  2. eguinan

    Ooh, a connoisseur! I shall look forward to your constructive criticism (i.e. unfailing praise ‘cos otherwise I shall die a little inside. No pressure.)

  3. Jonathan

    Enda, really excellently done! Thank you. From The Eraser onwards, I literally cannot fault your choice of tracks or your mixing. Well done, and give us more ;-P You’ll be glad to hear that I’ve recommended this mix to a few discerning fans of the dance, and the feedback is all very very positive. Get yo’self a gig in Dublin, will ya?

  4. Pingback: These shoes cost three-hundres dollars…. « Daddy or Chips?
  5. Pingback: It’s Mix Time! Creepy Treehouse « Daddy or Chips?
  6. Pingback: New Site Alert: Look At This Fucking Hipster « Daddy or Chips?

Leave a Reply

