Weekend Mumps

The mumps virusIt’s Friday evening, and apart from going to have my rather ancient car have its 2-year test (it will fail) tonight, I’m unexpectedly free.

Well, freer than I thought I would be. I was to have given a talk tomorrow at the University Day, but the whole thing has been called off because we have an outbreak of mumps (or as we like to call it: the mumps)! 

10,000 potential students had to be contacted today to tell them it’s all off and apparently isn’t going to be rescheduled. 

So, I can have a sleep in! Yay! This is a bit sad because we had written to almost 350 people with disabilities who might be coming next September and we were looking forward to having a chat with them.

Odd. I wrote that last sentence and realised that I really like my job. 

Still, sleep in is good too.

Get well soon mumpy-kids (and stay away from my office when you’re going to the Medical Centre! Cheers!)

 

Mumps outbreak stops university open day from rte.ie.

4 comments

  1. Asteri Design

    So did your car fail the test then?

    BTW, surely you meant ”its” 2-year test, not ”it’s”!

    C’mon dude, you’re the one who taught me all about it… I mean its a piece of cake 😉 its intended, LOL!

  2. eguinan

    Amazingly, it passed!

    I laughed when the nice Eastern European mechanic said ‘You passed’. I think he understood! Anyway, it’s legally roadworthy until 2010!!

    Good call on the ‘it’s’ thing. You are correct. I’m doing that more and more lately, I must admit. Carelessness rather than lack of knowledge!

    (I’ll edit it, even though it might make your message seem strange!)

Leave a Reply

