Holy Crap! Now That’s What I Call Music – The First One!

You may be a sharp dresser, you may be a fantastic dancer, you may be a lively conversationalist, but what happens at the end of the evening when the time comes to show how you feel? Unless you can kiss with confidence all your fancy dressing, dancing and talking won’t get you a second date.

Jesus Christ. They have gone and re-released the first Now from 1983. 1.9.8.3.

How many of you have this on vinyl? Of course it was either vinyl or cassette back then, and the idea of 30 – 30 – tracks by the original artists and not edited was a rather novel thing at the time. And I really really loved Will Powers’ Kissing With Confidence.

I seem to recall this coming out in January, but I didn’t get it immediately. Why not?

a) I was 9

b) Stuff like Genesis and Simple Minds didn’t really appeal.

c) I may not have had £6.99 (about €435 in today’s money).

d) I was edging more towards cassettes at that point and was very scared to make the wrong format decision.

 

In fact, I went on to buy all the Nows up to about 46. Vinyl up to about 20 with a few cassettes too (Now 4 was the first one on tape for me).

Anyway, this all reminds me why I never subscribed to the ‘vinyl is superior to CD’ argument. They popped, scratched and generally sounded pretty rough by the time they got to the last track. I remember Culture Club’s Victims sounding particularly rough on this album. CD’s rocked. And hey, mp3 is pretty fine too; let’s not be too nostalgic; I’d rather have a few thousand tracks in my pocket than a tea-chest full of vinyl in the parents’ attic.

The tracklist:

Disc: 1
1. Phil Collins – You Can’t Hurry Love
2. Duran Duran – Is There Something I Should Know
3. UB40 – Red Red Wine
4. Limahl – Only For Love
5. Heaven 17 – Temptation
6. K.C. & The Sunshine Band – Give It Up
7. Malcolm McClaren – Double Dutch
8. Bonnie Tyler – Total Eclipse Of The Heart
9. Culture Club – Karma Chameleon
10. Men Without Hats – The Safety Dance
11. Kajagoogoo – Too Shy
12. Mike Oldfield – Moonlight Shadow
13. Men At Work – Down Under
14. Rock Steady Crew – Hey You (Rock Steady Crew)
15. Rod Stewart – Baby Jane
16. Paul Young – Wherever I Lay My Hat
Disc: 2
1. New Edition – Candy Girl
2. Kajagoogoo – Big Apple
3. Tina Turner – Let’s Stay Together
4. Human League – Fascination
5. Howard Jones – New Song
6. UB40 – Please Don’t Make Me Cry
7. Peabo Bryson & Roberta Flack – Tonight I Celebrate My Love
8. Tracey Ullman – They Don’t Know
9. Will Powers – Kissing With Confidence
10. Genesis – That’s All
11. The Cure – The Love Cats
12. Simple Minds – Waterfront
13. Madness – The Sun And The Rain
14. Culture Club – Victims

 

You can practise the Romance Chant Method at Amazon. All together now: Hableme el unico del mundo. Digame: como te hace ese sonido. Tan glorioso. Que aun hoba con anticipation de el. Me ha reducio a un bestia. Grunedo. Entusiomandose y paliptando.

Practice this chant in the morning as you rise, in the evening as you retire and just before a date.

3 comments

  1. Mike A

    ha! i definitely remember the original series from back in the day. unfortunately, i was barely in high school and couldn’t afford those ‘lavish’ ‘imported’ ‘records’ on my $5/week lunch allowance!

    funny how you mentioned culture club. i did, however, manage to splurge on their uk 12″ for ‘karma chameleon’ b/w ‘i’ll tumble 4 ya (remix)’. i always wondered why records from the uk were so thin and sharp on the edges. we won’t discuss how i cried when i dropped it on the floor and it cracked and broke into 3 pieces.

    “{Gasp} I’ll never be able to find this in the store again!”

    Yes, I was a piece of work.

    lol.

  2. Pingback: Cadbury’s Eyebrow Ad « Daddy or Chips?

Leave a Reply

