 + Me

iMac with Steve Jobs image on Apple website

1955-2011

When the iPod came out in 2001, it made immediate sense to me. Here was a beautiful little box the size of pack of cigarettes and it could ‘put 1,000 songs in your pocket’. I wanted 1,000 songs – and more – in my pocket.

A first-generation iPod on display at Macworld in 2002. Photograph: Justin Sullivan/Getty Images

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had come late to CDs, leaped enthusiastically into minidisc but when I saw this, I knew that it was the future. This gizmo was going to give me the control over my rolling Life Soundtrack more than the others could.

Alas it was crazy expensive and it wasn’t until the following year that I was given my first iPod as a gift. (The first of very many  – to date I’ve only ever bought one iPod – the original Shuffle in 2005 – my friends know me very well.)

The original Shuffle from 2005. I still have it and it still works.

In the ten years since, Apple product enrich my life hugely. From the gorgeous photo book I had printed for Andrew’s 40th; the wedding videos edited on iMovie; the mashup made on Garageband; the presentations I’ve given using Keynote; the half-remembered one-hit wonder rediscovered on iTunes; the mobility of the MacBook that let me work and live in two countries at the same time; the statsfreakery indulged as my Nano Nike+ records my runs; my book that was designed on an old Classic II; the ‘discussions’ with the university’s patient Computer Centre as I insisted on Apple stuff; to the joy of connectivity that the latest addition to the family, the iPad, brings.

Of course, the extraordinary work that went into the creation and execution of those tools can’t be credited to one person alone: they represent the talents of thousands of individuals.

But talent needs to be harnessed and directed by someone with a vision. Despite the silly Windows vs Mac ‘debates’, the marketing and the expense, Steve Jobs’ vision has made life better for me.

iThank you.

Steve Jobs 1955-2011

Worth 15 minutes of anyone’s time. ‘How To Live Before You Die’ – Jobs’ speech at Stanford in 2005

Leave a Reply

