Amazon Reviews, Wicked Girls and the 90-9-1 Rule

Image of person wearing t-shirt with the word 'Lurker' on

Source: aWiderNet.com

How many times have you read the Customer Reviews on Amazon before you buy? Probably lots.

How many times have you written one? Probably not so much.

To my shame, I’ve written only six since I first awarded 3 stars to Matt Roberts’ PHA Workout back in 2005. Yet I find Amazon reviews directly influence whether or not I make a purchase. Incidentally, I tend to pay more attention to the 3 and 4 star reviews

So, as an Amazon user I fit squarely into the 90-9-1 rule of online engagement.

Put differently,

  • about 1% of YouTube users create content frequently;
  • another 9% will interact with that content by commenting or rating; leaving
  • a whopping 90% of people who just watch or read without interaction.

Bear this in mind when you do create content. Don’t be disheartened by the lack of RTs, Likes or clicks; remember that 90% of folk may see your content (and indeed by influenced by it) but won’t leave any trace of their visit.

And my most recent Amazon review concerns The Wicked Girls by Alex Marwood, a cracker of a read that I gave five stars to. (And not just because the author will be making an appearance here shortly with some superb insights into social media and publishing.)

 

2 comments

  1. Póló

    I have currently 43 reviews on Amazon. They are mostly 5 star. That worried me for a while until I realised I was reviewing books I had bought or got from the library, about which I already knew something which made me want to read them.

    Knowing you are going to do a review can also keep you alert and thinking as you read the book. And it’s great fun venting after the event.

    • eguinan

      That’s a good point about keeping alert while reading. You’ve reminded me that when I read on the Kindle, I often mark sentences or phrases for sharing on Twitter. (I often forget to share them, but the intention is there – a sort of communal reading!)

Leave a Reply

