Honky Tonk Angel

I learned this morning that my aunt Josie died last night after a long, nasty struggle with the Big C.

My dad’s sister-in-law, she was something of a maverick. One of those wild women who wasn’t to be approved of when I was a kid, was pretty hip when I was a teen and then, as happens, fell away from contact when I flew the nest.

Anyway, I’ll associate her with dark smoky pubs, cigarettes and that glint of mischief in her eyes as she dragged me Very Proper Me onto the dancefloor to jive to bonkers country music.

Rest in peace.

Track: Sweetheart, Darlin’ Of Mine by Claire Lynch (from Silver & Gold).

4 comments

  1. Mike A

    my condolences to you and your family enda. she sounds like she was a aunt. hopefully i can be the cool uncle to my own nieces and nephews too. 🙂

Leave a comment